Congratulations to the Beat Awards First Round nominees

You can vote once per 3 Hour period per IP Address up until Friday October 20, 2017 at 6pm EST We will announce the finalists at 6:30pm.

The 2017 Muskegon BEAT Awards will be held Saturday, November 25 at 6pm at the Muskegon Holiday Inn Ballroom

2017 Beat Award Nominees

Best Educator
• Angela Johnson
• Iva Jones
• Shandra Sain
• Aviance Watts
• Nancy Gray
• Manasseh Bankhead

Best Barbershop
• Doc’s Taper House
• Classic Cuts
• Fancy Yancey’s

Best Beauty Shop
• Genesis
• Hair by DVG
• Doc’s
• Unity
• Serenity

Best Business
• Urban Apparel
• Chicken Coop
• Flawless by Kandra
• Amber Riley Cosmetology
• Port City Cab
• Blended Hair Products

Best Greek Organization
• Sigma Lambda Gamma
• Delta Sigma Theta
• Omega Psi Phi

Best Mentor
• Candy McGruther
• Dwayne Banks
• Wil Roberson Sr.

Best Pastor
• Trent Williams
• Dwayne Banks
• Scottie McKinley
• Avery Burrell
• Andre Williams
• Tyrone Rule
• John Williams Sr.
• Nathaniel Wells Jr.
• Arthur Duren

Best Student Athlete
• Clifton Jefferson Jr.
• Jourden Sharps
• Willie Bo Shanks
• Keontae Watson
• Jayden Day
• Ahmad Briggs
• Edmari Mitchell
• DeMario Robinson Jr.

Youth Student of the Year
• Darius Williams
• Kayonah Black
• Devin Wilson
• Nakayla Carter

High School Student of the Year
• DeNyah Oakes
• Jada Cunningham
• Sylvester Kirks

Entertainment-Spoken Word/Actor/Actress
• Shelby Stokes-Carson
• Ryan Swanson
• Champagne Smith
• Jacqueline Passionate Poet

Entertainment Social Media
• Diandra Briggs
• Marcus Holmes
• Kristine (Montana) Harvey

Extraordinary Couple
• Mr. & Mrs. Marvin Nash
• Mr. & Mrs. Nathaniel & Violet Johnson
• Mr. & Mrs. Duane and Beverly Bennett
• Mr. & Mrs. Keith & Keisha Guy
• Mr. & Mrs. Harry & Brenda Evans

Extraordinary Parents
• Mr. & Mrs. Steve & Merle Jackson
• Mr. & Mrs. Howard & Frances Ross
• Mr. & Mrs. Richard & Blanche Smith
• Mr. & Mrs. Eddie & Ruthel Sanders

Male Trailblazer
• Chauncy Williams
• Lorenzo Murray
• David Fox
• Brandon Davis

Female Trailblazer
• Asia Black
• Lorena Johnson
• Earvean Diggs
• Jocelyn Hines
• Marsha Harris
• Chantrill Sandifer
• LaToya Porchia

Distinguished Gentleman
• Jeff Walker
• Thomas Smith
• Floyd Cook Jr.
• Will Roberson Sr.
• Glen Metcalf

Most Sophisticated Lady
• Tamica Fox
• Kay Shabazz
• Lisa Kirksey
• Brianna Scott-Grissom

Extraordinary Transplant
• William Rule Jr.
• Kim Mack
• Deyonta Davis
• Chris Carter
• Bobby Taylor
• Karriem Watson
• Patrice Johnson

Best Performer or Entertainer- Music
• Blanche Smith
• Anthony Carradine
• Coralynn Douglas
• Jocelyn Hines
• Marquise Williams
• Ashley Hughes
• Shavon Che’v Paggett
• Chyna Dollz
• Kirsten Pimpleton
• PL12

Sponsored by

Congratulations to the 2015 BEAT Awards Finalists!

beat awards post card front2015 Beatawards

2015 Beat Award Finalists

Best Coach

                Terrance Stewart

                Johnny Lang

                Ricky Anderson

Best Mentor

                Ricky Anderson

                Terrance Stewart

                Jeanette Foster

Distinguished Gentleman

                Johnny Bankhead

                D’Vonte Dockery

                Rodney Savage

Sophisticated Lady

                Brianna Scott

                Tamica Fox

                Beverly Cole-Bennett

                Kaja Thornton

Beauty Shop

                Unity Salon & Spa

                Genesis Hair Salon

                Hair by DVG

Best Educator

                Jamille Charles

                Yalanda Hill

                Papa Njai

Local Activist

                Terrance Stewart Sr.

                Gloria White-Gardner

                Kim Sims

Best Performer or Entertainer



                Chris Mitchell

Best Spoken Word

                Ebony Davis (Gemini Da Poet)

                Jacqueline (The Passionate Poet)

                D’Erika Nichols

Young Professional on the Move

                Nicole Bradford

                Derrick Oakes Jr.

                Earvean Diggs

Extraordinary Couple

                Mr. & Mrs. Kemmie (Destinee) Sargent

                Mr. & Mrs. Kenneth (Paris) Stewart

                Mr. & Mrs. Rodney (Shavaun) Savage

Student of the Year Middle/Junior High

                Donovan Daniels

                ILayia Strong

                Dillon Sims

Student of the Year Senior

                Sierra Bursey

                Serinus Daniels

                Jaliyah McBride

Best Barbershop

                Ken’s Anointed Hands

                Terrace Cutz

                Norris Roberts Virginia’s Beauty & Barber

Community Leader

                Rodney Savage

                Eric Hood

                Kaja Thornton

Local Athlete 18 & Younger

                Jordan Cooley

                Darece Roberson

                Robert Gee Jr.

Social Media

                Gwen Riley

                Randy Huckabee Dame

                Wild Boyz

Amazing Parents 70+

                Mr. & Mrs. Emmitt Davis Sr.

                Mr. & Mrs. John Thornton Sr.

                Mr. & Mrs. Sim Ray

Finalist for the 2014 BEAT Awards

[tminus t=”22-11-2014 19:00:00″/].

Finalists-" Beat Awards 14"

Athlete 18 & younger-
Kobe Burse
Kevontea Pegues
Justin Riley Piggee 

Best Non-Profit-
Mission for Area People (MAP)
ROARR (Reaching Out Against Road Rage) 
Muskegon Family Care

Athlete 19 & older (3rd place tie)-
Christopher Anderson
Ashton Legget
Jalen Burt
Lou Williams

Best Social Media Impact-
Ronnie Caviness
Reutonya Smith
Muskegon Heights Alumni Page

Best Church Choir-
Spring Street Baptist Church
Holy Trinity COGIC
Christ Temple Apostolic Church

Best Local Business-
Scribs Pizza
Express Nutrition 
Navarro's Mexican Takeout

Best Mentor-
Jeanette Foster
Chauncey Williams
Tishley Williams 

Best Barbershop -
Fancy Yancy's
Docs Taper House

Best Beauty Shop-
Hair by DVG
Salon Envy
Fancy Yancy's 

Best Entertainer-
Glen Chapman
Turn Up Guys/New Era Swagg feat Dappa Jordan
Ahsila ( Alisha Watkins-Johnson)

Best Community Leader-
Carla Laws
Rev. Charles W. Poole Sr. 
Louis Churchwell 

Best Teacher/ Teachers Aide-
Fatima McKinney
Aviance Watts
Beverly Burrel-Johnson

Sophisticated Lady-
Sheila Bridges
Kaja Thornton
Taniekka Harris

Student of the Year-
Sierra Bursey
Rahmeen Hamilton
Courtney Bailey

Best Coach- 
Keith Guy
Paul Briggs Jr. 
Ron Gates
Matt Koziak

Most Distinguished Gentleman ( 3rd place tie)-
Kevin Cummings
Bishop John M. Williams
Brandon Burrel
Carlos Piggee

Extraordinary Couple-
Mr. & Mrs. Dwight (Linda) Vines
Pastor & Mrs. Rodney (Shavaun) Savage
Mr. & Mrs. Demetrio (Brandi) Dockery


200 Nominations in the 2014 Muskegon Beatawards


After 3 weeks of nominations and over 60 hours of radio time dedicated to honoring the “Best in Education, Achievement and Talent”, 200 people were nominated by their family and peers.

This round of Voting will close on Wednesday, October 22nd at 6pm. An hour after the polls close we will announce the final three of each category on radio. Voting will resume at 8pm.

On Wednesday, November 19th at 7pm the voting on will be closed.

One of our new categories this year “Extraordinary Couple” is generating a huge buzz and already has over 1,000 votes casted.

Another group with extremely high traffic is “Best Local Athlete 18 & Younger”

We thank you for the participation so far and looking forward to seeing you at the 2014 Muskegon Beat Awards on Saturday, November 22, 2014 @7pm EST.

Hosted by Actor/Singer Christian Keyes

You can vote once per 8 Hour period per IP Address.

Sponsored by

FrontierCom_CMYKMercyHealth CMYK